G-Force Crowns a Champion

After 16 weeks of sliding, bumping, and sweating, the G-Force Hijinx Clothing Vintage Cup Series crowned it’s champion Tuesday night. It was down to a two man battle at Atlanta for the championship between Dallas Myhand and Christopher Morse Jr. Myhand took over the lead halfway through the race with Morse Jr. trapped a lap down adding to the drama of the night. A timely caution put Morse Jr. back on the lead lap and poised for a championship clinching finish.

Morse Jr. would do just that by finishing second in the race. Jake Hounshell, who finished third in points, won the race to sweep the Atlanta races this season. Hounshell would’ve been the next closest in the championship hunt had their been enough cars for Morse Jr. to lose enough points. We weren’t far away from that happening as the largest car count (22) of the season showed up, including 2000 Winston Cup Series champion Bobby Labonte.

Country Roads Motorsports had their worst night to date, finishing a distant 19th. The issues started from the get go, missing the grid, thus being forced to start from pit road. The first third of the race ran green, forcing a round of green flag pit stops. These would not be our friend on the night, having much trouble getting onto pit road with worn tires. Twice we missed the pit road entry, forcing over 3 minutes of black flags that put the Juicebox Podcast Chevy four laps down and without a chance to get back. To cap it off, we were caught up in a late wreck and blew it up.

This finish would put us a distant 5th in the final standings behind Gerald Campbell, Hounshell, Myhand, and Morse Jr. Morse was the most consistent driver all season, leading drivers in average finish position at 4.1, tying John Weitendorf who made four less starts. Morse finished in the top 5 in 14 of 16 races and won two of his own. Morse Jr. and Campbell will be the championship favorites when the series returns in February.

The CRM race team looks forward to next season with something to build on. We would like to thank the Juicebox Podcast, SportShift Media, Flatout Racing Network, G-Force Sim Racing, Hijinx Clothing, and all the affiliates for an awesome season. Be sure to tune in next Tuesday for the end of the year G-Force Grand National Series powered by the Juicebox Podcast.

For some final stats, see below. Stats are for drivers with at least 10 starts.

Avg Start Position

Gerald Campbell4.5
Christopher Morse5.6
Jake Hounshell5.8
Blaine Akin6.5
R Hank Steinmiller6.7
Tyler Riggs27.3
Seth Harrelson7.9
Jeff Green37.9
John Weitendorf28.6
Dallas Myhand9.7
Todd Eldredge212.1
Randy Koching13.0

Avg. Finish Position

John Weitendorf24.1
Christopher Morse4.1
Blaine Akin5.5
Dallas Myhand5.5
Jake Hounshell5.6
Gerald Campbell6.2
R Hank Steinmiller6.5
Tyler Riggs27.7
Jeff Green38.0
Seth Harrelson9.1
Randy Koching11.6
Todd Eldredge211.8

Laps Led

Blaine Akin494
Gerald Campbell389
Jeff Green3263
R Hank Steinmiller220
Christopher Morse198
Jake Hounshell180
Dallas Myhand136
John Weitendorf2110
Tyler Riggs264
Seth Harrelson30
Todd Eldredge25
Randy Koching3

Laps Completed

Christopher Morse2338
Jake Hounshell2334
Dallas Myhand2076
R Hank Steinmiller1825
Jeff Green31730
Gerald Campbell1722
John Weitendorf21675
Tyler Riggs21665
Seth Harrelson1628
Todd Eldredge21596
Blaine Akin1449
Randy Koching1098


John Weitendorf294
Tyler Riggs2142
Randy Koching147
Gerald Campbell148
Christopher Morse158
Blaine Akin173
Todd Eldredge2179
R Hank Steinmiller181
Jeff Green3192
Dallas Myhand234
Jake Hounshell238
Seth Harrelson282

Top 3 Finishes

Christopher Morse9
Gerald Campbell6
John Weitendorf25
Blaine Akin5
R Hank Steinmiller5
Jake Hounshell5
Dallas Myhand4
Tyler Riggs23
Jeff Green32
Randy Koching0
Todd Eldredge20
Seth Harrelson0

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply